top of page

Blog Post

Dresser turned TV console

Okay first things first..... I am SO excited that I'm finally starting this blog to document all of my projects. Now that I have that out, how awesome is this furniture flip? I mean I may be a tad biased. But I purchased this dresser for 40 bucks and knew I'd do something to it one day..

2 years later, I finally got the nerve to tackle this big mother trucker!

It took a few glasses of wine to get through this one. Especially because my 2 and 4 year old wanted to help me constantly.

Now, after two weeks they're still asking, "is this dry?" before touching it.

muahaha they're starting to learn.

I wanted to stain the top so I began the project sanding all of the finish from the top [if you don't have a sander... get one... it's LIFE CHANGING] . You really can do without one though like I did for forever, you'll only lose arm fat and fingerprints.

Oh and I always like to stain first because it won't be a big deal if it drips down onto something.

After wiping everything down 500 times because sawdust is not cool, I then used an old shirt to apply the stain. [I always try to use old things on hand because it's free] [yay for free]. I ended up doing 2 coats and I followed the directions on the Minwax stain.

I used sandpaper to go around any rough edges on the dresser just to get the knicks and knacks evened out. I removed the bottom drawers and beat the thing to death trying to get all of the unnecessary elements out so that I could create shelves.

I grabbed my Linen White chalk paint and went to town on this beast. The first coat of chalk paint is always rough but have no fear, the second is amazing. I love this paint from home depot and it's easier on the pocket book than Annie. Once it was dry, I carefully antiqued some edges and rough spots with my sandpaper.

I like to antique my projects so that it looks like actual wear and tear instead of intentional marks. Wiped the beast down 500 times more and painted on a dark glaze with a tiny brush in the antiqued areas. I let it set for about 10 minutes before wiping the excess off gently . I love the drama it adds to the piece. Glaze has been pretty tricky to me though. I get a little better every time though.

I decided to go entirely too complicated on the top shelf. It actually wouldn't have been complicated if I had a circular saw, buuuuut I don't. The guy at lowes basically laughed at me when I asked him to cut the wood into 80 one inch pieces. I mean I would have laughed at me too.. or?? Anyways, I decided to reevaluate and made the slats larger. I went to home depot this time. I guess I was looking goooood, because this guy was super nice and cut all 40 pieces for me with no problem.

I found an awesome navy stain and stained my boards navy and walnut. Once they were dry, I went over them lightly with a dark glaze just to give them a little more character. I used Elmer's wood glue to put them down and in no particular order.

I found a piece of plywood that was really cool at HD so I had it cut (they cut for free). I stained it in the navy and went over with the dark glaze as well. Glued it down and wahlahhh the shelves were finished.

My new hardware came from the local Habitat for Humanity. I decided that the glass knobs were too much and went for something more simple. Reduce, reuse and recycle eh!?

We're closing on our new house next week. I'm so excited to get this bad boy into it!

Cheers!

ARCHIVES

POPULAR TAGS

No tags yet.
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page